Know thyself

 

I was looking over my portfolio.  The one I created solely to submit for a class aptly dubbed Portfolio.  I’ll include images below this post.  I was just trying to find images to share on Instagram.  But my actual take away was much deeper.

I always need distance from my work, by that I mean time.  In the moments during and after creating something I always seem most excited about stuff that is not successful and most critical about pieces that are good.  I’m not certain why I lack perspective in the moment to see clearly my own successes and flaws.  I don’t think it’s entirely unusual and it’s part of the reason I take classes.  But it’s interesting.

I also realize I am a sculptor.  I think in the round and compose well when I’m dealing with space.  My brother had mentioned it to me recently.  He didn’t exactly say I shouldn’t bother with two-dimensional art but he hinted at it.  I think his intention was to say that I should stop trying to fit myself into a box that will never quite fit.  And I didn’t know what to say.  I didn’t think it was right at the time.

So I was actually surprised to see it.  My 2-D art is underwhelming at best.  People are always excited to see my art and then vaguely confused when I show them, say, a painting.  This bothers me because I want to be able to represent what’s in my head with precision and accuracy.  I don’t think that will ever happen when it comes to pencils, charcoal, and paint.  I could probably become a proficient draftsman if I put my mind to learning certain principles about art.  I could learn how to make accurate drawings if I continue working.   But there’s really nothing special happening when I put any sort of mark onto paper.  It’s simply not an art language I understand.

That might sound too harsh but I think it’s true.  On the flipside, I might sound arrogant when I say there’s definitely something happening when I deal with space and the physical world.  Something that I could really expand upon and get something special from if I kept at it.  There’s a certain sensitivity I’m picking up from my 3-D work that’s really interesting.  

Which leads me to the original title of this post, “the importance of being prolific.” Looking back on the last few years I wish I had made a ton more art.  I think I could’ve developed a much stronger body of work and just found more personal fulfillment in creating things.  I’m glad I’m starting to understand the importance of just making things but I feel like it took too long.  

 

 

 

 

Author: Lee

I'm just posting bits and boops of the things I create.

Leave a Reply

